Black Lives Matter and “The Nuclear Family Structure”

Jelani Greenidge
5 min readAug 20, 2020

Conservatives, Stop Quoting the BLM Platform Out of Context.

“Baby in gray and black onesie lying on bed” by Abiodun Lucy

Okay so real quick, I need to just sort out one quick thing.

In my role as a bridge-building person, I’ve been seeing this question or challenge pop up more and more frequently by white and/or conservative people who have issue with Black Lives Matter. It’s usually on social media or in comment sections, where I don’t usually the bandwidth to respond individually, so most recently I’ve resorted to sending people links to my latest hip-hop rebuttal and moving on. Nevertheless, I recently had a white guy with a conservative Christian background bring this up to me in person, so that tells it’s not going away anytime soon.

I’ve written much more extensively on the ways in which it’s important to separate the movement or the concept of #BlackLivesMatter from the actual Black Lives Matter organization, so I’m not going to retread that ground here.

However, I’ve noticed that, in an attempt to discredit the broader #BlackLivesMatter movement (which I will heretofore distinguish by using the hashtag version of the slogan), a lot of white conservatives have taken to attacking the “radical leftist agenda” of the Black Lives Matter organization, founded by three self-described “radical Black organizers,” whose website can be…

--

--

Jelani Greenidge

Pastor, Writer, Musician, DJ, Stand-up Comic. Author of Undercover Prophets. Linktr.ee/jelani.greenidge Support via Cash App $JelaniGreenidge He/Him