I Was Wrong About Being Right About The Matrix

Jelani Greenidge
10 min readDec 22, 2021
Carrie-Anne Moss, Keanu Reeves, Laurence Fishburne, and Joe Pantoliano in 1999’s “The Matrix.”

Today, there’s a new Matrix movie out. And I am pumped.

Because The Matrix is my favorite film of all time. To say I loved it when it came out, would be a massive understatement.

For starters, I often referred to it as, simply, “the film.” As in, one of the friends in my circle might have misunderstood a Matrix reference that I’d weaved into a particular conversation (as I was so fond of doing), and I might eagerly respond, “oh, have you not seen the film?” at which point they would be like, “wait, is this… are you talking about that Matrix movie again?” to which I would inevitably respond, with eyes gleaming and pitch-perfect Fishburnian cadence, “do you want to know… what… it… is?”

I loved The Matrix for many reasons, not the least of which was the fact that it arrived with big ambitions and even bigger ideas at a time when I was especially hungry for both. Early in the first act where Trinity says to Neo, “you’ve been down that road before, you know exactly where it ends,” I felt like she was talking directly to me. Like the movie had temporarily stopped being a big-budget vehicle for mass entertainment and had somehow stared right into my soul.

--

--

Jelani Greenidge

Pastor, Writer, Musician, DJ, Stand-up Comic. Author of Undercover Prophets. Linktr.ee/jelani.greenidge Support via Cash App $JelaniGreenidge He/Him